Skip to main content
Course

Enrolling users into a Course

How do I enrol users into a Course?

You can enrol users into a Course by clicking the Enrol People button at the top of the Course page.

help-video-6310882

๐ŸŽฌ Watch this as a short narrated video

Steps shown in this video

  1. Open Content & Courses โ†’ Your Courses in the admin area
  2. Open the course you want to enrol people into
  3. Click Enrol People to open the enrolment wizard
  4. Choose your audience โ€” individual people, teams, managers, or cohorts
  5. Select the learners to enrol
  6. Set the start and due dates โ€” one-time or recurring
  7. When you're ready, hit Review & Launch โ€” your learners are enrolled and notified straight away

Once opened, youโ€™ll see a list of available users. Simply select the ones you want to enrol, set a start and due date, then click Review & Launch. Check the summary and click Launch to complete the enrolment.

After submitting the enrolment, I see a message saying โ€œSome selected users are already enrolled.โ€ What does this mean?

This message appears when one or more of the users you've selected are already enrolled in the Course. When a user displays the enrolled icon, it means they currently have an active enrolment.

Continuing will remove their current enrolment and create a new one, which will reset their progress to 0% and set the new start date you've defined.

Before proceeding, you can choose to download the current progress report for those users to keep a record of their existing status.

To go ahead with the update, click Continue With Enrolment.

I have enrolled certain users to a Course, but all the lessons are disabled. Why is that?

This may happen for different reasons:

  • If the Courseโ€™s due date has passed, users wonโ€™t be able to access its content. In that case, Admins may extend their enrolmentโ€™s Due Date, or allow access to the course after the due date.
  • The Course is scheduled to start on a future date, making it only available when the start date comes.

Can users start a Course on their own?

Yes, users can choose to self-enrol in Courses they havenโ€™t been enrolled to. By clicking on โ€œStart Course,โ€ theyโ€™ll unlock all the lessons and assessments within that Course and appear in the enrolled users list with their start date automatically set.

This enrolment will start with progress 0%, regardless of any other progress made in previous enrolments or outside the course

If a user has been enrolled into a Course, and its due date has expired, can they self-enrol in that course again?

As of now, itโ€™s not possible for users to self-enrol in expired courses. If the admins have changed the settings of courses, they can allow users to access the course even after due date.

How does a user make progress in a Course?

To make progress within a specific Course, users must access and view the lessons directly from that Course page, before its due date. Any lesson progress made outside the Course page, wonโ€™t impact on the Course progress %

Where can users access their Courses?

Users can access Courses theyโ€™ve been enrolled to by:

  • Going to their โ€œYour Workspaceโ€ page โ†’ โ€œCourses you're enrolled inโ€ section on the app
  • Tapping on the mobile app notification they received when enrolled
  • Opening the course enrolment email

How do I unenrol a user from a course?

On the course's Enrolments tab, tick one or more users. In the bar that appears at the bottom of the screen, open the actions menu and select Unenrol.

Alternatively, open the three-dot menu (โ€ขโ€ขโ€ข) on a user's row and select Unenrol.

You will be asked to confirm in the Unenrol users? dialog. Once confirmed, the user is removed from the course and it no longer appears in their workspace. If the course was assigned through a learning program, the dialog warns you that unenrolling also removes it from that program.